Mining
Resources

RDS Gold runs in our veins

[ONGLETS]
[ONGLET]History[/ONGLET]
[ONGLET]Work performed[/ONGLET]
[/ONGLETS]
[CONTENUS]
[CONTENU]

Old O’Brien gold mine

In 1924, the claims were staked by two prospectors for the M.J. O’Brien Company Ltd. and vein No. 1 was discovered by prospecting. The O’Brien mine was therefore discovered in 1924 during the first period of exploration in the region.  In 1925, the No. 1 exploration shaft was sunk to a depth of 110 feet (33.5 metres) and a period of intensive exploration began. The main production shaft (shaft No. 2) was put into operation in 1930 and was deepened to 2,125 feet in 1934. Construction of an internal shaft was initiated in 1941 and completed in 1949. It extended to a vertical depth of 3,450 feet below surface. In 1933, the O’Brien mine went into production and was operated until 1956. From 1925 to 1956, the mine produced approximately 1,310,356 short tons of ore at an average grade of 0.448 ounces of gold per ton (RPA, May 2007). The mine was closed and the surface infrastructure was dismantled in 1957 

In the early 1970s, the property was acquired by A.N. Ferris & Associés, which carried out a major drilling program and subsequently began to rebuild surface infrastructure. In 1977, Consolidated Goldfields Mining acquired a 51% interest in the project and Darius Gold Mine Inc. was created. The upper levels of the mine were then refurbished and a new mill, with a capacity of 200 short tons per day, was built in 1977–1978.  Darius processed a total of about 141,500 short tons of ore at a grade of 0.12 oz/st before it closed in 1981 (RPA, May 2007).

Sulpetro Minerals (which became Novamin, then Breakwater and then Nyrstar) bought the property in December 1981, and renamed it the O’Brien Division. The initial interest was to acquire the mill to process ore from a contiguous property: Kewagama.  In 1985, the O’Brien mine was flooded once again and geophysical surveys were carried out. In 1986–1987 a program of exploration drilling tested extensions east and west of the property and led to the discovery of 36E area located about 2,000 feet (610 metres) east of the main shaft of the old O’Brien Mine. In 1988, additional holes were drilled on 36E area. 

Breakwater acquired Novamin in 1989 and drilled additional holes in this area, and then produced a first estimate of mineral resources. However, these resources were estimated before National Instrument 43-101 standards of disclosure came into force. 

In 1994, Radisson obtained an option to acquire 50% of the O’Brien property. In 1999, the Company acquired 100% of the O’Brien property.

[/CONTENU]
[CONTENU]

Old O'Brien area

As soon as the option agreement was signed in 1994, the Company commissioned geologist Jack Charlton, who worked at the O’Brien mine in the 1980s, to re-evaluate the resources of the old mine at the time it closed in 1981. (Source: Charlton, J.D., 1995 -O’Brien Re-evaluation for Radisson Mining Resources,1995). However, these resources were estimated before National Instrument 43-101 standards of disclosure came into force and as such should not be relied upon. An independent Qualified Person as defined in National Instrument 43-101 has not done sufficient work to classify the historical estimate as current mineral resources.  Radisson is therefore not treating the historical estimate as current mineral resources or mineral reserves.


Historical inferred mineral resources (Charlton, 1995)


 Deposit Short tons Grade (oz/st) Ounces
Old O'Brien mine 539,327 0,21 110,786
These “resources” are historical in nature and should not be relied upon. It is unlikely they conform to current NI 43-101 criteria or to CIM Standards and Definitions, and they have not been verified to determine their relevance or reliability. They are included in this section for illustrative purposes only and should not be disclosed out of context.

[/CONTENU]
[/CONTENUS]

Ressources
Minières

RDS L'or coule dans nos veines

[ONGLETS]
[ONGLET]Historique[/ONGLET]
[ONGLET]Travaux effectués[/ONGLET]
[/ONGLETS]
[CONTENUS]
[CONTENU]

Ancienne mine d'Or O'Brien

En 1924, les claims sont jalonnés par deux prospecteurs pour la compagnie « M.J.O’Brien Company Ltd » et la veine no1 est découverte par prospection. La mine O'Brien est donc découverte en 1924 durant la première période d'exploration dans la région. En 1925  le puits  d’exploration no1 a été foncé jusqu’à une profondeur de 110 pieds (33,5 mètres) et une période d'exploration intensive commençait. Le puits principal de production (puits no 2) a débuté en 1930 puis, fut approfondi en 1934 jusqu’à 2125 pieds. Un puits interne a été initié en 1941 et terminé en 1949. Il s’étend jusqu’à une profondeur verticale de 3450 pieds sous la surface. En 1933, la mine O'Brien entrait en production et fut exploitée jusqu'en 1956. Durant la période de 1925 à 1956, la mine a produit environ 1 310 356 tonnes courtes de  minerais à une teneur moyenne de 0.448 onces par tonnes  d’or (RPA, mai 2007). La mine a été fermée et les infrastructures de surface ont été démantelées en 1957.

Au début des années 1970, la propriété a été acquise par A.N. Ferris et Associés. Ils ont effectué un important programme de forage qui a conduit à un début de reconstruction des infrastructures de surface.  En 1977, Consolidated Goldfields Mining  acquière 51% d’intérêt dans le projet et la Darius Gold Mines Inc. est créée. Les niveaux supérieurs de la mine sont alors réhabilités et un nouveau concentrateur, d'une capacité de 200 tonnes courtes par jour, fut construit en 1977-1978.  Darius a traité un total d'environ 141 500 tonnes courtes de minerais  à une teneur de 0,12 on/tc avant sa fermeture en 1981 (RPA, mai 2007).

Sulpetro Minerals (devenu Novamin, puis Breakwater, puis Nyrstar) a acheté la propriété en décembre 1981, et l’a renommé « Division O’Brien ». L’intérêt initial était d’acquérir le moulin pour traiter son minerai provenant d'une propriété contiguë : Kewagama. En 1985 la mine O’Brien est à nouveau noyée et des levés géophysiques sont effectués. Durant la période 1986 à 1987 un programme de forage d’exploration teste les extensions est et ouest de la propriété et  conduit à la découverte du « Secteur 36E » située  à environ 2000 pieds (610 mètres) à l’est du puits principal de l’ancienne mine O’Brien. En 1988 des forages additionnels sont réalisés sur le Secteur 36E.

Breakwater acquière Novamin en 1989 et réalise des forages supplémentaires dans ce secteur, puis établit une première estimation de ressources minérales. Ces ressources ont toutefois, été estimées avant les Standards de divulgation de l’Instrument National 43-101.

En 1994, Radisson obtient une option d’acquisition de 50% de la propriété O’Brien. En 1999, la Société fait l’acquisition de 100% de la propriété O’Brien.

[/CONTENU]
[CONTENU]

Secteur Vieille O'Brien
Dès l’option d’acquisition en 1994, la Société mandate le géologue Jack Charlton, qui a travaillé dans les années 1980 à la mine O’Brien, pour mettre à jour les ressources et réserves minérales de l’ancienne mine O’Brien. (Source : Charlton, J.D., 1995 – O’Brien Reevaluation for Radisson Mining Resources, 1995). Cependant, ces ressources et réserves minérales ont été estimées avant les Standards de divulgation de l’Instrument National 43-101 et peuvent ne pas rencontrer de façon fiable les exigences du NI 43-101. Une personne qualifiée, indépendante et déclarée comme étant conforme à l'instrument national 43-101, n'a pas examiné les détails de ces estimations historiques. Radisson ne considère donc pas ces estimations historiques comme des ressources et réserves minérales courantes.

Ressources minérales historiques (Charlton, 1995)


 Dépôt Tonnes courtes Teneur (on/tc) Onces
Secteur Vieille mine O'Brien 539 327 0,21 110 786
Ces “ressources” sont de nature historique et on ne peut fonder une opinion adéquate sur celles-ci. Elles ne sont certainement pas conformes aux critères 43-101 actuels ou aux Standards et Définitions de l’ICM et elles n’ont pas été vérifiées afin de déterminer leur pertinence ou leur fiabilité. Elles sont incluses dans cette section à titre illustratif seulement et elles ne devraient pas être divulguées hors contexte.

[/CONTENU]
[/CONTENUS]