Mining
Resources

RDS Gold runs in our veins

[ONGLETS]
[ONGLET]Location and mining titles[/ONGLET]
[ONGLET]Geology[/ONGLET]
[ONGLET]History-O'Brien property[/ONGLET]
[ONGLET]Work performed[/ONGLET]
[/ONGLETS]
[CONTENUS]
[CONTENU]

The O’Brien project is located in the Abitibi region in northwestern Québec, on provincial highway 117, about halfway between the towns of Rouyn-Noranda and Val-d’Or. This project also contains the contiguous Kewagama property of Radisson located immediately to the east. Gravel roads provide easy access to the properties.


Gold deposit Quebec Gold deposit abitibi gold mining stock canada abitibi greenstone belt gold investment quebec
Radisson Mining Resources Inc. has a 100% interest in the 617.26-hectare property, which is divided into 33 mining claims. The property is subject to a royalty of $1 million payable to Nyrstar (formerly Breakwater Resources Ltd.) at the beginning of commercial production. A core library and offices are located on the property.

Gold deposit Quebec Gold deposit abitibi gold mining stock canada abitibi greenstone belt gold investment quebec junior mining quebec Radisson, Quebec [/CONTENU]
[CONTENU]

The O’Brien project is located in the central part of Cadillac Township, Abitibi, in the heart of one of the most productive gold mining camps in Canada, the Cadillac Mining Camp, which boasts over 45 million ounces of gold (produced and in reserves and resources).

High grade Gold deposit Quebec High grade mine Quebec Radisson Quebec gold mining stock quebec abitibi greenstone belt longitudinal

The project straddle the Cadillac-Larder Lake Break (or Cadillac Break), a regional structure that not only hosts past and present gold producers, including the Lapa, Kerr Addison and Macassa mines, but also several highly prospective zones. Much of the mining camp’s gold mineralization is associated with the Cadillac Break and its subsidiary structures.

In the Cadillac area, about 7 km east of the O’Brien project, straddling the same geological formations and also along the regional Cadillac Break, is the Lapa Gold Mine, a significant producer owned by Agnico-Eagle Mines Limited. Production at the Lapa mine began in 2009 and is expected to continue until 2016. Its proven and probable reserves total about 400,000 ounces of gold (2.1 million tonnes grading 6.0 grams of gold per tonne). This mine’s gold grades are almost twice as high as Agnico-Eagle’s average. (Reference: Agnico-Eagle website: Operations/Our Operations/Lapa, on August 12, 2013)

In addition, the O’Brien project is located approximately 3.7 km southeast of the LaRonde gold mine (owned by Agnico-Eagle), which has one of the largest gold reserves of any operating mine in Canada. LaRonde has produced almost 4.3 million ounces of gold since it opened in 1988. The mine still has 4.2 million ounces of gold in proven and probable reserves (29 million tonnes grading 4.5 g/t) (Reference: Agnico-Eagle website: Operations/Our Operations/LaRonde, on August 12, 2013).

Both the O’Brien and Kewagama properties are underlain in the south and north by sedimentary rocks: the Pontiac Group in the south and the Cadillac Group in the north.  The centre is characterized by a thin strip of volcanosedimentary rocks with porphyry intrusions known as the Piché Group. All the mineralized structures of the old O’Brien and Kewagama mines lie within the Piché Group. Overall, the formations are oriented east-west with a steep dip to the south. Across the property, the Cadillac Break zone is subparallel to the Piché Group/Cadillac Group contact.

The gold mineralization of the project is associated with deformation zones within the rocks of the Piché Group. There are three main styles: veins and veinlets of quartz often with free gold, gold-bearing-sulphide-enrichedalteration halos in the walls, and tabular zones with biotite or sericite and gold-bearing sulphides. 

Gold intersections, sometimes with free gold, associated with narrow quartz-arsenopyrite veins (pyrite) were also cut by historic drilling and by Radisson drilling in Pontiac Group sediments in the south and Cadillac Group sediments in the north.

[/CONTENU]
[CONTENU]

Old O’Brien gold mine and 36E area

In 1924, the claims were staked by two prospectors for the M.J. O’Brien Company Ltd. and vein No. 1 was discovered by prospecting. The O’Brien mine was therefore discovered in 1924 during the first period of exploration in the region.  In 1925, the No. 1 exploration shaft was sunk to a depth of 110 feet (33.5 metres) and a period of intensive exploration began. The main production shaft (shaft No. 2) was put into operation in 1930 and was deepened to 2,125 feet in 1934. Construction of an internal shaft was initiated in 1941 and completed in 1949. It extended to a vertical depth of 3,450 feet below surface. In 1933, the O’Brien mine went into production and was operated until 1956. From 1925 to 1956, the mine produced approximately 1,310,356 short tons of ore at an average grade of 0.448 ounces of gold per ton (RPA, May 2007). The mine was closed and the surface infrastructure was dismantled in 1957 

In the early 1970s, the property was acquired by A.N. Ferris & Associés, which carried out a major drilling program and subsequently began to rebuild surface infrastructure. In 1977, Consolidated Goldfields Mining acquired a 51% interest in the project and Darius Gold Mine Inc. was created. The upper levels of the mine were then refurbished and a new mill, with a capacity of 200 short tons per day, was built in 1977–1978.  Darius processed a total of about 141,500 short tons of ore at a grade of 0.12 oz/st before it closed in 1981 (RPA, May 2007).

Sulpetro Minerals (which became Novamin, then Breakwater and then Nyrstar) bought the property in December 1981, and renamed it the O’Brien Division. The initial interest was to acquire the mill to process ore from a contiguous property: Kewagama.  In 1985, the O’Brien mine was flooded once again and geophysical surveys were carried out. In 1986–1987 a program of exploration drilling tested extensions east and west of the property and led to the discovery of 36E area located about 2,000 feet (610 metres) east of the main shaft of the old O’Brien Mine. In 1988, additional holes were drilled on 36E area. 

Breakwater acquired Novamin in 1989 and drilled additional holes in this area, and then produced a first estimate of mineral resources. However, these resources were estimated before National Instrument 43-101 standards of disclosure came into force. 

In 1994, Radisson obtained an option to acquire 50% of the O’Brien property. In 1999, the Company acquired 100% of the O’Brien property.

[/CONTENU]
[CONTENU]

36E area

Radisson's exploration efforts have focused on 36E area of the O’Brien property. They have allowed this area to be interpreted as a complex of veins and veinlets similar in nature and characteristics to those extracted from the old O’Brien Mine, including high-grade zones.  

During the 2004 drilling program, 36E area was explored at depth. Hole OB04-01A returned numerous anomalous gold values. The most interesting intersection yielded a grade of 0.40 oz/st over a core length of 1.0 foot (from 4,663.0 feet to 4,664.0 feet), corresponding to a vertical depth of approximately 4,200 feet (1,280 m). The drilling also intersected wide mineralized alteration zones.

Potential depth extension - 36E AREA


 Hole From
  (ft)
To
(ft)
Core length*
(ft)
Au
(oz/st)
Au
(g/tm)
Core length*
 (m)
OB04 - 01A  4663,0 
 4664,0 
1,0 0.40 13.65 0,3
  4730,6 4779,1 48,5 0.032 1.10 14,8
  4791,9 4816,9 25,0 0.041 1.40 7,6
*True width is estimated at 60-70% of core length.
**NQ core, sawn in half, was analyzed by Laboratoire Expert of Rouyn-Noranda in 2004 by fire assay with atomic absorption finish, or by metallic sieve method when visible gold was present.


The alteration and mineralization encountered in this hole are typical of the old mine and of 36E area. These results show the potential of extending 36E area well beyond the existing infrastructure (former exploration drift - 2,000-foot level). In addition, the high grade intersection cut by this hole compares favorably with the old O’Brien mine’s historical grades.

2007-2012 Drilling Programs- 36E AREA

 Year Number of holes Total
(ft)
Total
(m)
  2007 
15   6,735     2,053 
2008 19 (+8 abandonned) 17,908 5,458
2011 6 6,526 1,989
2012 3 6,929 2,113
Total 43 38,098 11,612

In fall 2012, Radisson drilled 17 short vertical holes to estimate the average thickness of overburden and rock quality in the projected path of the Zone 36 East decline.

Cadillac Group and Pontiac Group – O’Brien property

Radisson’s drilling also cut several gold intersections, some with high grades and free gold, associated with narrow quartz-arsenopyrite-(pyrite) veins in Pontiac Group sediments in the south, and Cadillac Group sediments in the north.    


North sector–Cadillac Group, O’Brien property -Main results 1997 drilling

Hole From
(ft)
To
(ft)
Au
(oz/st)
Core Length.* (ft)
Au
(g/tm)
Core Length.* (m) Comments
OB97-104A 214,50
215,10 0,322 0,60 11,04  0,18
Quartz vein, As-Py-Po        
  438,90 439,65 1,987 0,75 68,12 0,23 Quartz vein, As-Py, visible gold
   552,25 553,55
0,686
1,0
21,80  0,30
Quartz vein, As-Py, visible gold
  740,00
741,00
0,486
1,0
16,66 0,30
Quartz vein, As-Py, visible gold
OB97-105D 313,50
314,40
0,522
0,90
17,89  0,27
Quartz vein, visible gold
*True width is estimated at 60-70% of core length.

Qualified person

All scientific and technical data discussed in this document has been prepared by or under the supervision of Yolande Bisson, Eng. MBA,consultant, who acts as a Qualified Person for the Company, as defined by NI 43-101.
[/CONTENU]
[/CONTENUS]

Ressources
Minières

RDS L'or coule dans nos veines

[ONGLETS]
[ONGLET]Localisation et titres miniers[/ONGLET]
[ONGLET]Géologie[/ONGLET]
[ONGLET]Historique[/ONGLET]
[ONGLET]Travaux complétés[/ONGLET]
[/ONGLETS]

[CONTENUS]
[CONTENU]

Le projet O'Brien est localisé dans la région de l’Abitibi, dans le nord-ouest du Québec, sur la route provinciale 117, environ à mi-chemin entre les villes de Rouyn-Noranda et de Val-d’Or. Le projet O'Brien est composé des propriétés contigües O'Brien et Kewagama. Des routes secondaires gravelées fournissent un accès facile à la propriété.

Dépôt aurifère, Or exploration, Radisson Cadillac, junior minière, O'Brien, exploration minière Québec Canada, location régionale
Ressources minières Radisson Inc. détient 100 % d’intérêt sur cette propriété de 617,26 hectares divisée en 33 claims miniers. La propriété est sujette à une royauté de 1 million de dollars payable à Nyrstar (auparavant Ressources Breakwater Ltée) au début de toute production commerciale. Une carothèque et des bureaux se situent sur la propriété.
Radisson Québec, Camp minier bousquet cadillac, Faille larder lake cadillac, or en abitibi, exploration minière québec, exploration minière canada, mining claim o'Brien [/CONTENU]
[CONTENU]
Le projet O’Brien est localisé dans la partie centrale du canton de Cadillac, en Abitibi, au cœur de l’un des camps miniers aurifères les plus productifs au Canada, le Camp Minier de Cadillac, où on retrouve plus de 45 millions onces d'or (produites et en réserves et ressources).

Dépôt aurifère, Or exploration, Radisson Cadillac, junior minière, O'Brien, exploration minière Québec Canada, longitudinale section

Le projet chevauche la zone de Faille Larder Lake-Cadillac (ou Faille Cadillac)  une structure régionale  hébergeant des producteurs d’or anciens et actuels, dont les mines Lapa, Kerr Addison, Macassa, mais aussi plusieurs zones à fort potentiel. Une grande partie de la minéralisation aurifère du camp minier est associée à la zone de Faille Cadillac et ses structures subsidiaires.

Dans le secteur de Cadillac, environ 7 km à l’est du projet O’Brien, et chevauchant les mêmes formations géologiques et également le long de la Faille régionale Cadillac, se trouve la Mine d’or LAPA, qui est un producteur significatif détenu par Agnico-Eagle Ltée. La production de la mine LAPA a débuté en 2009, et devrait se prolonger jusqu'en 2016. Ses réserves prouvées et probables totalisent environ 400 000 onces d’or (2,1 millions de tonnes titrant 6,0 grammes d’or par tonne). Les teneurs en or de cette mine sont presque deux fois supérieures à la moyenne d’Agnico-Eagle.
(Référence : site Web de Agnico-Eagle : Exploitation/mine en exploitation/Lapa,  au 12 août 2013).

Le projet O’Brien est de plus, située  à environ 3.7 km au sud-est de la mine d’or LaRonde (détenue par Agnico–Eagle Ltée) une des plus importantes réserves aurifères de toutes les mines en exploitation au Canada. LaRonde a produit près de 4,3 millions d’onces d’or depuis son entrée en production en 1988. La mine compte toujours des réserves prouvées et probables de 4,2 millions d’onces d’or (29 millions de tonnes d’une teneur de 4,5 g/t).
(Référence : site Web de Agnico-Eagle : Exploitation/mine en exploitation/Lapa, au 12 août 2013).

Les deux propriétés contigües, O’Brien et Kewagama, sont occupées au sud et au nord, par des roches sédimentaires soit, le Groupe de Pontiac au sud, et le Groupe de Cadillac au nord. Le centre est caractérisé par une mince bande de roches volcano-sédimentaires avec des intrusions porphyriques, le Groupe de Piché. Toutes les structures minéralisées de l’ancienne mine O’Brien sont situées à l’intérieur de ce  Groupe de Piché. Dans l’ensemble toutes les formations sont de direction est-ouest avec un pendage abrupte vers le sud. À travers la propriété, la zone de Faille Cadillac est subparallèle et au contact Groupe de Piché/Groupe de Cadillac.

La minéralisation aurifère est associée aux zones de déformation à l’intérieur des roches du Groupe Piché. Elle se présente selon trois facies principaux : des veines et veinules de quartz souvent avec de l’or libre, les halos d’altération enrichis en sulfures aurifères dans les murs, et des zones tabulaires à biotite ou séricite et sulfures aurifères.

Des intersections aurifères, parfois avec de l’or libre, et associée à d’étroites veines de quartz-arsénopyrite (pyrite), ont également été interceptées par des forages historiques et par ceux de Radisson dans les sédiments du Groupe de Pontiac au sud, et dans les sédiments du Groupe de Cadillac au nord.
[/CONTENU]
[CONTENU]

Ancienne mine d'Or O'Brien et Secteur 36E

En 1924, les claims sont jalonnés par deux prospecteurs pour la compagnie « M.J.O’Brien Company Ltd » et la veine no1 est découverte par prospection. La mine O'Brien est donc découverte en 1924 durant la première période d'exploration dans la région. En 1925  le puits  d’exploration no1 a été foncé jusqu’à une profondeur de 110 pieds (33,5 mètres) et une période d'exploration intensive commençait. Le puits principal de production (puits no 2) a débuté en 1930 puis, fut approfondi en 1934 jusqu’à 2125 pieds. Un puits interne a été initié en 1941 et terminé en 1949. Il s’étend jusqu’à une profondeur verticale de 3450 pieds sous la surface. En 1933, la mine O'Brien entrait en production et fut exploitée jusqu'en 1956. Durant la période de 1925 à 1956, la mine a produit environ 1 310 356 tonnes courtes de  minerais à une teneur moyenne de 0.448 onces par tonnes  d’or (RPA, mai 2007). La mine a été fermée et les infrastructures de surface ont été démantelées en 1957.

Au début des années 1970, la propriété a été acquise par A.N. Ferris et Associés. Ils ont effectué un important programme de forage qui a conduit à un début de reconstruction des infrastructures de surface.  En 1977, Consolidated Goldfields Mining  acquière 51% d’intérêt dans le projet et la Darius Gold Mines Inc. est créée. Les niveaux supérieurs de la mine sont alors réhabilités et un nouveau concentrateur, d'une capacité de 200 tonnes courtes par jour, fut construit en 1977-1978.  Darius a traité un total d'environ 141 500 tonnes courtes de minerais  à une teneur de 0,12 on/tc avant sa fermeture en 1981 (RPA, mai 2007).

Sulpetro Minerals (devenu Novamin, puis Breakwater, puis Nyrstar) a acheté la propriété en décembre 1981, et l’a renommé « Division O’Brien ». L’intérêt initial était d’acquérir le moulin pour traiter son minerai provenant d'une propriété contiguë : Kewagama. En 1985 la mine O’Brien est à nouveau noyée et des levés géophysiques sont effectués. Durant la période 1986 à 1987 un programme de forage d’exploration teste les extensions est et ouest de la propriété et  conduit à la découverte du « Secteur 36E » située  à environ 2000 pieds (610 mètres) à l’est du puits principal de l’ancienne mine O’Brien. En 1988 des forages additionnels sont réalisés sur le Secteur 36E.

Breakwater acquière Novamin en 1989 et réalise des forages supplémentaires dans ce secteur, puis établit une première estimation de ressources minérales. Ces ressources ont toutefois, été estimées avant les Standards de divulgation de l’Instrument National 43-101.

En 1994, Radisson obtient une option d’acquisition de 50% de la propriété O’Brien. En 1999, la Société fait l’acquisition de 100% de la propriété O’Brien.
[/CONTENU]
[CONTENU]

Secteur 36E

Les efforts d’exploration de Radisson concentrés sur le Secteur 36E de la propriété O’Brien ont permis d’interpréter ce secteur comme un complexe de veines et veinules semblables en nature et en caractéristique à celles exploitées dans l’ancienne  mine O’Brien, incluant des zones à forte teneur.

Lors de la campagne de forage de 2004, le Secteur 36E a pu être explorée en profondeur. Le forage OB04-01A a retourné de nombreuses valeurs anomales en or.  L’intersection la plus intéressante a rapporté une teneur de 0,40 on/tc sur une longueur de 1,0 pieds selon le forage (de 4663.0 pieds à 4664,0 pieds), correspondant à une profondeur verticale d’environ 4200 pieds (1280 m).  Le forage a également recoupé de larges zones d’altération minéralisées.

Extention potentielle en profondeur - Secteur 36E

 Forage    De (pi)        À (pi)     Au**
(on/tc)
Longueur*
(pi)
Au
(g/tm)
Longueur*
(m)
 OB04-01A  4663,0 4664,0 0.40 1,0 13.65 0.3
  4730,6 4779,1 0.032 48,6 1.10 14.8
  4791,9 4816,9 0.041 24,9 1.40 7.6
*Longueur selon le forage; L'épaisseur vraie estimée à 60-70% de l'épaisseur selon le forage.
**Carottes de calibre NQ, sciées en deux, analysées par Laboratoire Expert de Rouyn-Noranda en 2004, par la méthode de pyro-analyse et finition par absorption atomique, ou par la procédure de métallique sieves lorsque présence d'or visible.

L’altération et la minéralisation rencontrées dans ce forage sont typiques de l’ancienne mine et du Secteur 36E.  Ces résultats démontrent le potentiel d’extension de le Secteur 36E bien au-delà des infrastructures existantes (ancienne galerie d'exploration niveau – 2000 pieds).  De plus, l’intersection à haute teneur recoupée par ce forage se compare favorablement aux teneurs historiques de l’ancienne mine O’Brien.

Campagne de forages 2007 à 2012 - Secteur 36E


 Année Nombre de forages Total (pieds) Total (mètres)
2007 15 6 735 2,053
2008 19 (+8 abandons) 17 908 5,458
2011 6 6 526 1,989
2012 3 6 929 2,112
Total 43 38 098 11,612

À l’automne 2012, Radisson a effectué 17 courts forages verticaux,  dans l’objectif d’estimer l’épaisseur moyenne de mort-terrain et la qualité de la roche, dans la trajectoire prévue pour le portail du projet de rampe du projet O'Brien.

Groupe de Cadillac et Groupe de Pontiac - Propriété O’Brien

Les forages de Radisson ont également intercepté plusieurs intersections aurifères, dont certaines  à hautes teneurs et avec de l’or libre, associée à d’étroites veines de quartz-arsénopyrite-(pyrite), dans les sédiments du Groupe de Pontiac au sud, et dans les sédiments du Groupe de Cadillac au nord.

Secteur Nord – Groupe de Cadillac Propriété O’Brien principaux résultats forage 1997

 Forage De 
(pi)
 
À
(pi)
 
Au**
(on/tc)

Longueur*
(pi)

Au
(g/tm)

Longueur*
 (m)
Remarques
OB97 - 104A 214,50
215,10 0,322 0,60 11,04
0,18
Veine Quartz, As-Py-Po
  438,90 439,65 1,987 0,75 68,12 0,23 Veine Quartz, As-Py, Or visible
   552,25 553,55
0,686
1,0
21,80 0,30
Veine Quartz, As-Py, Or visible
  740,00
741,00
0,486
1,0
16,66 0,30
Veine Quartz, As-Py, Or visible  
OB97 - 105D 313,50
314,40
0,522
0,90
17,89 0,27
Veine Quartz, Or visible
*Longueur selon le forage; L’épaisseur vraie est estimée à 60-70% de l’épaisseur selon le forage.
**Carottes de calibre NQ,  sciées en deux, analysées par XRAL Laboratoire de Rouyn-Noranda en 1997, par la méthode de pyro-analyse et finition par absorption atomique, ou par la procédure de métallique sieves lorsque présence d’or visible.


Personne Qualifiée

Toutes les données scientifiques et techniques contenues dans ce document ont été préparées par, ou sous la supervision, de Yolande Bisson, ing. MBA, consultante, qui agit en tant que personne qualifiée pour la Société, selon le NI-43-101.
[/CONTENU]
[/CONTENUS]